Skip to main content

Join us at Laurier

Becoming a Golden Hawk means more than just cheering on our (really good) varsity teams – it means being a student who cares about your community, who works hard in the classroom, and who takes advantage of all the learning opportunities that can happen outside the classroom, too.

The membership of Senate is broadly representative of the university community. A majority of senators are faculty members and academic librarians. Faculty members are elected to represent all faculties and departments across the university, as well as affiliated and federated colleges. Senate also includes: eight students (including one graduate student and at least one student from Brantford), three alumni, one staff member and two representatives of the secondary school system of Ontario.

Senate also has several ex-officio members. In addition to the president and vice-chancellor of the university, who chairs Senate, each vice-president, dean of a Faculty, the chancellor, university librarian, registrar and head of each federated or affiliated college are ex-officio members.

The officers of Senate include the chair, vice-chair and secretary. The chair is the president and vice-chancellor per the Wilfrid Laurier University Act, while the vice-chair and secretary are elected by Senate in accordance with the governing documents.


  • Senate Chair: Deborah MacLatchy, President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Senate Vice-Chair: Jenna Hennebry
  • Senate Secretary: John Schwieter

Ex Officio Members

  • Chancellor: Eileen Mercier
  • President and Vice-Chancellor: Deborah MacLatchy
  • Chair, Board of Governors: Lynda Hawton Kitamura
  • Principal-Dean, Martin Luther University College (Waterloo Lutheran Seminary): Kristine Lund
  • Provost and Vice-President: Academic: Anthony Vannelli
  • Vice-President: Advancement and External Relations: Jason Coolman
  • Vice-President: Finance and Administration: Lloyd Noronha
  • Vice-President: Student Affairs: Ivan Joseph
  • Vice-President: Research: Jonathan Newman
  • Vice-Provost: Teaching and Learning: Mary Wilson 
  • Dean, Faculty of Arts: Sofie Lachapelle
  • Acting Dean, Faculty of Social Work: Jennifer Root
  • Dean, Faculty of Education: Maria Cantalini Williams
  • Acting Dean, Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies: Brent Wolfe
  • Dean, Faculty of Music: Cynthia Johnson Turner
  • Dean, School of Business and Economics: Micheál Kelly
  • Dean, Faculty of Science: Anthony Clarke
  • University Librarian: Gohar Ashoughian
  • Acting Dean, Faculty of Liberal Arts: Kenneth Werbin
  • Dean, Faculty of Human and Social Sciences: Bruce McKay
  • Assistant Vice-President: Enrolment Services and Registrar: Jennifer Casey

Elected/Appointed Members

  • Three appointed by the Board of Governors:
    • Savvas Chamberlain
    • Chinyere Eni-McLean
    • Doug Treleaven
  • One elected by administrative staff: Hillary Beaudry
  • One elected by academic librarians: Hélène LeBlanc
  • Seven elected by undergraduate students (two-year terms):
    • Nasik Amanullah
    • Andrew Dang
    • Christy Francis 
    • Pegah Jamalof
    • Ibrahim Musa 
    • Josh Smith
    • Brandon Vale
  • One elected by graduate students (two-year term): Julia Empey
  • Three appointed by the Alumni Association:
    • Sarah Cameron
    • Axel Noreiga
    • Caitlin Smith
  • Two appointed by Senate to represent the Ontario Secondary School System:
    • TBD
    • TBD
  • Two members of faculty from Martin Luther University College (Waterloo Lutheran Seminary):
    • Gyeong Kim
    • Daniel Maoz
  • Eight from the Faculty of Arts:
    • Gavin Brockett
    • Bonnie Glencross
    • Jenna Hennebry
    • Andrew Herman
    • Penelope Ironstone
    • Loren King
    • Lucy Luccisano
    • John Schwieter
  • Nine from the Lazaridis School of Business and Economics:
    • Mike Brolley
    • Ling Chu
    • Scott Ensign
    • Azim Essaji
    • Salar Ghamat
    • Patricia McLaren
    • Logan McLeod
    • Josephine McMurray
    • Kalyani Menon
    • Jessie Zhan
  • Two from the Faculty of Education:
    • Cathy Miyata
    • TBD
  • Two from the Faculty of Liberal Arts:
    • Robert Ame
    • Danielle Law
  • Two from the Faculty of Human and Social Sciences:
    • Dan Antonowicz
    • James Popham
  • Two from the Faculty of Music:
    • Kirstin Yri
    • Gerard Yun
  • Seven from the Faculty of Science:
    • Maher Ahmed
    • Pam Bryden
    • Vladimir Kitaev
    • Bruce McKay
    • Scott Ramsay
    • Mark Reesor
    • TBC
  • Two from the Faculty of Social Work:
    • Anh Ngo
    • TBC

Updated as of July 1, 2021


We see you are accessing our website on IE8. We recommend you view in Chrome, Safari, Firefox or IE9+ instead.