Skip to main content

Join us at Laurier

Becoming a Golden Hawk means more than just cheering on our (really good) varsity teams – it means being a student who cares about your community, who works hard in the classroom, and who takes advantage of all the learning opportunities that can happen outside the classroom, too.

At Laurier, we share a deep commitment to academic achievement and a culture that fosters, supports and celebrates our teaching excellence. Laurier instructors have been recognized for their dedication, engagement and passion for teaching through a number of high-profile awards. A selection of these awards is listed below.

3M National Teaching Fellowships

Sponsored by the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education and 3M Canada, this award is considered Canada’s most prestigious recognition of excellence in educational leadership and teaching at the university and college level, and celebrates exceptional achievement in teaching and educational leadership.

Laurier's 3M National Teaching Fellows:

  • Eileen Wood (2016): Psychology
  • Carol Duncan (2013): Religion and Culture
  • Mercedes Rowinsky-Geurts (2008): Languages and Literatures
  • Michel Desjardins (2001): Religion and Culture
  • Michael Moore (1993): English and Film Studies

OCUFA Teaching Award

The Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) teaching award recognizes outstanding performance in teaching.

Laurier's OCUFA award recipients:

  • Donna Kotsopoulos (2014): Faculty of Education; Mathematics
  • Edmund Pries (2014): Global Studies
  • Stephen MacNeil (2012): Chemistry
  • Eileen Wood (2012): Psychology
  • Carol Duncan (2006): Religion and Culture
  • Anne Westhues (2001): Social Work
  • Martha Keniston Laurence (1997): Social Work
  • Rosemary Fischer (1995): Music
  • John Redekop (1993): Political Science
  • Ervin Zentner (1978): Social Work

OUSA Award for Excellence in Teaching

Selected by students as an example of teaching excellence, the Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance (OUSA) award recognizes educators who engage their students in the process of learning and discovery by helping them to develop the thinking and learning skills that form the foundation of a high-quality educational experience.

  • Edmund Pries (2018): Global Studies; Social Entrepreneurship; Religion and Culture
  • Scott Gallimore (2017): Archaeology and Classical Studies
  • Chris Anderson (2016): Political Science
  • Rebecca Godderis (2015): Community Health; Society, Culture and Environment
  • Sofy Carayannopoulos (2014): School of Business and Economics
  • Jason Roy (2013): Political Science
  • Mercedes Rowinsky-Geurts (2012): Languages and Literatures
  • Bruce McKay (2011): Psychology
  • Kris Gerhardt (2010): Leadership; Psychology
  • Kerry Lappin-Fortin (2009): Languages and Literatures

Donald F. Morgenson Faculty Awards for Teaching Excellence

Laurier’s Donald F. Morgenson Faculty Awards for Teaching Excellence honour those who, through their commitment to exemplary teaching, have made significant contributions to the educational experience of Laurier students. Instructors are recognized for both long-standing and early-career excellence, for being classroom innovators and mentors, and for embedding internationalization in to their curriculum and pedagogy.

2018 recipients:

  • Early Career Excellence: Danielle Law, Youth and Children Studies and Psychology
  • Sustained Excellence: Michael Ackerman, English; and Bina Mehta, North American Studies and Global Studies
  • Excellence in Innovation: Julie Mueller, Education
  • Excellence in Internationalization: Stacey Wilson-Forsberg, Human Rights and Human Diversity
  • Faculty Mentoring: Carrie Sanders, Criminology
  • Hoffman-Little Award: Alex Latta, Global Studies and Environmental Studies

Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence (2001-2017)

2017 recipients:

  • Early Career Excellence: Richelle Monaghan, Health Studies and Biology
  • Sustained Excellence: Tristan Long, Biology; and Debra Nash-Chambers, Arts, Liberal Arts, and Human and Social Sciences
  • Excellence in Innovation: Shoshana Pollack, Social Work
  • Excellence in Internationalization: Ali Zaidi, Global Studies

2016 recipients:

  • Early Career Excellence: Vanessa Oliver, Youth and Children’s Studies; and Jennifer Long, Anthropology
  • Sustained Excellence: M. Kristiina Montero, Education; and Chris Klassen, Religion and Culture
  • Excellence in Innovation: Lee Willingham, Music; and Alicia McKenzie, Medieval Studies and History

Previous recipients:

  • Bruce McKay (2015): Psychology
  • Kaylena Ehgoetz Martens (2015): Psychology
  • Ken Maly (2014): Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Terry Sturtevant (2014): Physics and Computer Science
  • Rob Milne (2013): Geography and Environmental Studies
  • Duane Heide (2013): Education
  • Penelope Ironstone (2012): Communication Studies
  • Ronald Ross (2012): Archaeology/Medieval Studies
  • Stephen MacNeil (2011): Chemistry
  • Edmund Pries (2011): Global Studies
  • Eileen Wood (2010): Psychology
  • Fiona Rawle (2010): Biology
  • Bill McTeer (2009): Kinesiology and Physical Education
  • John Stephens (2009): Psychology
  • Mary-Louise Byrne (2008): Geography and Environmental Studies
  • Camie Condon (2008): Psychology
  • Nora Znotinas (2007): Physics and Computer Science
  • Marshall Ward (2007): Fine Arts
  • Catherine Black (2006): Languages and Literatures
  • Bob Gebotys (2005): Psychology
  • Joanna Ochocka (2005): Psychology
  • Carol Duncan (2004): Religion and Culture
  • Richard Ennis (2004): Psychology
  • Howard Teall (2003): Business and Economics
  • Sherrene Kevan (2003): Biology
  • Cynthia Comacchio (2002): History
  • Michel Desjardins (2001): Religion and Culture
  • Sheila McKee-Protopapas (2001): Biology

Wilfrid Laurier University Outstanding Teacher Award (1978-2000)

  • Mercedes Rowinsky-Geurts (2000): Languages and Literatures
  • Richard Walsh-Bowers (1999): Psychology
  • Martha K. Laurence (1998): Social Work
  • Gordon H.G. McDougall (1996): Business and Economics
  • Rosemary G. Fischer (1995): Music
  • Anne Westhues (1994): Social Work
  • John H. Redekop (1992): Political Science
  • Michael D. Moore (1991): English and Film Studies
  • T.F. (Tupper) Cawsey (1990): Business and Economics
  • Peter C. Erb (1989): Religion and Culture
  • Donald F. Morgenson (1988): Psychology
  • Victor Martens (1987): Music
  • Glenn E. Carroll (1986): Business and Economics
  • Jane L. Campbell (1986): English and Film Studies
  • Lawrence E. Toombs (1980): Religion and Culture
  • Jerry A. Hall (1979): Geography and Environmental Studies
  • James R. McCutcheon (1978): Business and Economics

Contact Us:

Kristiina Montero, Acting Associate Vice-President: Teaching and Learning

T: 519.884.0710 x3213


We see you are accessing our website on IE8. We recommend you view in Chrome, Safari, Firefox or IE9+ instead.