Skip to main content

Join us at Laurier

Becoming a Golden Hawk means more than just cheering on our (really good) varsity teams – it means being a student who cares about your community, who works hard in the classroom, and who takes advantage of all the learning opportunities that can happen outside the classroom, too.

The Order of Wilfrid Laurier University honours worthy recipients who have a record of exemplary and distinguished service to the university.

We invite members of the university community to nominate worthy individuals for the award.



The award is available to any member of the university, those currently or formerly attached to the university, and to those representing the university in the community. Candidates nominated for membership in the order may include, but are not limited to, current or former faculty, staff, students, volunteers, and friends of the university. The award shall not be made posthumously or in absentia.


The award consists of a diploma suitably inscribed, a pin denoting membership in the order, and a citation to be read at the convocation ceremony at which the award is presented. The recipient may also be invited to address convocation.


Nomination deadlines are November 15, 2021 for the following fall convocation and February 15, 2022 for following spring convocation. Nominations are reviewed by the Honorary Degree Committee and must include a completed nomination form, a letter of nomination signed by two nominators (or two representatives of a nominating group), and a full curriculum vitae and/or biographical sketch. All information submitted will be kept confidential. It is recommended that nominees not be advised of their nomination.


Past Recipients

  • Lina Fabi, June 2018
  • Carl Zehr, June 2017
  • Joe Mancini and Stephanie Mancini, October 2016
  • David Pfrimmer, June 2016
  • Mary D'Alton, June 2013
  • Beverly Harris, June 2012
  • Herb Epp, June 2012
  • Gerry McGrath, October 2011

We see you are accessing our website on IE8. We recommend you view in Chrome, Safari, Firefox or IE9+ instead.