Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Physical Resources
April 18, 2014
 
 
Canadian Excellence

Space/Renovations Requests



As defined in the Capital Priorities and Planning Process Policy, it is the responsibility of the Facilities and Space Management Committee to:

  • review, approve and advance for implementation all construction, alteration, change in use of space and renovation projects valued from $50K up to $2M;
  • ensure a space inventory is maintained and kept current; and
  • periodically review University space to ensure it is being used efficiently.
All space at the University is subject to changes in configuration and usage and no one unit has a proprietary right to any space.



The Facilities and Space Management Committee meets on a monthly basis, and ad hoc as appropriate, to review space requests. 



To Initiate a Space and/or Renovations Request under $2M:

  1. Review Appendix F of the Capital Priorities and Planning Process Policy.
  2. Primary Contact Person to complete Sections A & B of the Space/Renovations Request Form.
  3. Submit the form to Bill Januszkiewicz, Senior Project Coordinator: Renovations & Construction at bjanuszkiewicz@wlu.ca x6311and request a preliminary Total Project Cost Estimate Form (TPC).
  4. Primary Contact Person then to complete Section C (based on the preliminary TPC), D and E (required) electronically, print off and re-sign Section B.  
  5. If the department wishes to proceed, obtain the appropriate approval signature(s) in Section F
  6. Submit the original signed request, and any TPC or accompanying floor plan(s) to Gary Nower, AVP: Physical Resources at gnower@wlu.ca .


To request a change of space/renovation with costs of $2M or greater, please see the Capital Priorities and Planning Process Policy and submit a Capital Project Proposal Form to the President's Group. 



For additional information, please contact the Facilities and Space Management Committee:

  • Gary Nower, Assistant Vice-President: Physical Resources / FSMC Co-Chair, at nower@wlu.ca  or ext. 6210
  • Christine Dale, Manager: Integrated Planning and Academic Resources / VP: Academic & Provost Office / FSMC Co-Chair, at cdale@wlu.ca or ext. 3727
  • Ray Darling, Registrar, at rdarling@wlu.ca or ext. 6092
  • Dan Dawson, Assistant Vice-President: Student Services, at ddawson@wlu.ca or ext. 3320
  • Mark Dettweiler, Director: Planning, Design and Construction, at mdettweiler@wlu.ca or ext. 6310
  • Anne Diegel, Executive Assistant to the Office of the Vice-President: Finance and Administration, at adiegel@wlu.ca or ext. 2480
  • Dr. Tamas Dobozy, Acting Dean, Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, at tdobozy@wlu.ca  or ext. 3324
  • Marlene Ibrahim, Associate Registrar: Examinations & Scheduling / FSMC Resource, at mibrahim@wlu.ca or ext. 6359
  • Mary C. Mason, Senior Administrative Assistant, Physical Resources / FSMC Support, at mmason@wlu.ca or ext. 6312
  • Johanna Romero, Coordinator: Space Administration/ FSMC Resource, at jromero@wlu.ca  or ext. 3467
  • Robbin Williams, Financial Technician: Capital Projects / FSMC Resource, at rowilliams@wlu.ca  or ext. 4124