Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of  Music
February 11, 2016
Canadian Excellence

Laurier Centre for Music in the Community Awards

Laurier Centre for Music in the Community Awards


Each spring LcMc honours members of the community who contribute to the advancement of music.
The citation reads:

"The Laurier Centre for Music in the Community recognizes and celebrates the contribution that the recipient has made to enhance the quality and vitality of music in the community"


  • Ken Hull, Professor, Conrad Grebel University, University of Waterloo, Founder and Director, Spiritus Ensemble

  • Kari Kokko, Founder and Director of KW Community Music School

  • Lawrence McNaught, Artistic Director, Registry Theatre


  • Joanne Bender, dedicated educator, active composer and volunteer
  • Nancy Kidd, educator, conductor, mentor, clinician and adjudicator
  • Paul Maxwell, owner, Maxwell’s Music House


  • Corinne Dutton, Music Director, St. Matthew’s Lutheran Church, Founding Organizer, Sing Fires of Justice
  • Charles Morrison, Past Dean, Faculty of Music,
  • Debbie Lou Ludolph, Dean,Keffer Chapel, WLU Seminary, Founding Organizer, Sing Fires of Justice, founder of the Kanata Centre for Worship and Global Song, director of Inshallah
  • Earl McCluskie, recording engineer, promoter, performer, technology expert, and enthusiastic arts supporter
  • Paul Pulford, Performer, conductor, teacher, adjudicator, administrator, and mentor


  • Jean Narveson: music supporter/editor of the Music Times/tireless networker for musicians and community
  • Brad McEwan: Director, Mill-Race Festival of Traditional Folk Music (Cambridge)
  • Peter Nikiforuk:  Menno Singers/St. Peter's Lutheran/Editor of Kelmann-Hall choral series/studio teacher/community music leader/administrator