Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Office of Research Services
March 3, 2015
Canadian Excellence

Research Chairs

Research Chairs

Research Chairs are pivotal to the standard of research conducted at universities as they provide funding to allow faculty members not only the financial ability to continue their research, but also the time from teaching to concentrate on their projects. Funding for Chairs comes from a variety of sources: the Canada Research Chairs Program, the NSERC Northern Research Chairs Program, the Ontario Research and Development Challenge Fund, and private sector partnerships.

Since its inception in 2000, the Canada Research Chairs Program has aided Canadian universities by increasing their research and training capacities in order to ensure Canada’s ability to compete internationally in varied areas of study. Currently, eleven Wilfrid Laurier University researchers hold Canada Research Chairs. There are 2,000 Canada Research Chair positions funded by the federal government’s $900 million commitment to research and training at Canadian universities and their affiliated institutions.

  • Canada Research Chair in International Human Rights (tier 1), Rhoda E. Howard-Hassmann (Global Studies, Political Science)
  • Canada Research Chair in Mathematical Modelling (tier 1), Roderick Melnik (Mathematics)
  • Canada Research Chair in Cold Regions Water Science (tier 1), Philip Marsh (Geography and Environmental Studies)
  • Canada Research Chair in Cold Regions Hydrology (tier 2), William Quinton (Geography and Environmental Studies)
  • Canada Research Chair in Social Psychology (tier 2), Anne Wilson (Psychology)
  • Canada Research Chair in Group Dynamics and Physical Activity (tier 2), Mark A. Eys (Kinesiology and Physical Education, Psychology)
  • Canada Research Chair in International Migration (tier 2), Alison Mountz (Geography and Environmental Studies)
  • Canada Research Chair in Forests and Global Change (tier 2), Jennifer Baltzer (Biology)
  • Canada Research Chair in Market Insight and Innovation (tier 2), Tripat Gill (Business, Marketing)
  • Canada Research Chair in Comparative Federalism and Multilevel Governance (tier 2), Jörg Broschek (Political Science)
  • Canada Research Chair in Financial Markets (tier 2), Andriy Shkilko (Business, Finance)

Established in July 1999, the Chair in Insurance is responsible for developing courses that promote the development of graduates for future employment in the property and casualty insurance industry. As a focal point for the property and casualty insurance industry in Canada, the Chair conducts research in insurance and risk management and be responsible for helping raise the profile of the industry among students as well as in the broader community.

The Chair in Enterprise Integration and Technology Management, created in 2001, the researches techniques to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the value chains of different enterprises. Working collaboratively with faculty and students, the private sector and scholarly community, the Chair facilitates the growth of teaching, course development and research in the area of technology management.

  • Hamid Noori (Business: Operations and Decision Sciences)

The Lyle S. Hallman Chair in Child and Family Welfare is funded by a $1.5 million endowment from the late Lyle S. Hallman, a prominent businessman and philanthropist in the Waterloo Region. The chair will greatly increase the amount of teaching and research in the area of child and family welfare.

Funded by an anonymous alumnus donation of $2.5 million in 2009, the Dr. John McMurry Research Chair in Environmental Geography is named in honour of one of Laurier's most celebrated geography professors and former chair of the department, now retired.

Canada’s first Chair in Brand Communication was established in 2011 with an investment of $1.9 million by 45 leading Canadian brands and brand marketing professionals to establish Laurier as a national centre for brand education.

In 2011, a donation by the Dobson Foundation established the Dobson Professor of Innovation and Entrepreneurship.  The Foundation was an early supporter of The Schlegel Centre when it was formed in late 2002, and this Professorship will support the “Entrepreneurship @ Laurier” initiative that will take programs in entrepreneurship through all the Faculties at Laurier. 

The Economical Insurance Group Professorship in Finance

BMO Financial Group Professorship of Entrepreneurial Finance

Betty & Peter Sims Professor of Entrepreneurship

Dunkley Chair in War and the Canadian Experience

The Dunkley Chair in War and the Canadian Experience was established in 2013 to study the impact of war on Canadian history and society, as well as educate students about Canada’s military past.

The Chair was made possible through a $1.5 million gift from the Dunkley Charitable Foundation.

    CIGI Research Chairs are recognized internationally as outstanding and innovative scholars working on the frontier of global governance and teach in the academic programs of the Balsillie School of International Affairs.  They also hold academic appointments at either Laurier or UW.  The current CIGI Research Chairs from Laurier are:

    • Jonathan Crush, CIGI Chair in Global Migration and Development
    • Simon Dalby, CIGI Chair in the Political Economy of Climate Change
    • Paul Freston, CIGI Chair of Religion and Politics in Global Context
    • Rianne Mahon, CIGI Chair in Comparative Family and Social Policy