Site Accessibility Statement
Wilfrid Laurier University Office of Research Services
December 19, 2014
Canadian Excellence

Juanne Clarke, 2013-2014 University Research Professor

Award Announcements

Announcements of Research Grants, Chairs, and Awards

Laurier names Juanne Clarke University Research Professor

May 6, 2013 - Wilfrid Laurier University Sociology Professor Juanne Clarke has been named Laurier’s 2013-2014 University Research Professor. The announcement was made May 2, at the Celebrate Research 2012-13 event, sponsored by Laurier’s Office of Research Services.

Read more.

Laurier scientists awarded Ontario Research Fund grants

April 12, 2013 - Three Wilfrid Laurier University scientists have been awarded more than $150,000 in infrastructure grants by the Ontario Ministry of Research and Innovation
Stephanie Dewitte-Orr, Diane Gregory and Geoff Horsman have each been awarded an Ontario Research Fund-Research Infrastructure grant to provide equipment and resources for their research labs.
Read more

Jörg Broschek named Canada Research Chair in Comparative Federalism and Multilevel Governance at Laurier

March 15, 2013 - Wilfrid Laurier University is pleased to announce the appointment of Jörg Broschek to the position of Canada Research Chair in Comparative Federalism and Multilevel Governance. Read more

Laurier welcomes Fulbright Research Chair in Political Development at Balsillie School

February 3, 2013 - Robert I. Rotberg, an internationally acclaimed Africa expert, is the inaugural Fulbright Research Chair in Political Development at the Balsillie School of International Affairs (BSIA) and Visiting Fulbright Scholar at CIGI. Read more.

Laurier appoints AIDS expert Alan Whiteside as CIGI Chair in Global Health

December 4, 2012 - Wilfrid Laurier University has appointed the internationally recognized academic and AIDS researcher Alan Whiteside to the position of CIGI Chair in Global Health at the Balsillie School of International Affairs. His term will begin in 2013. Read more.

Laurier professor earns Polanyi Prize for Literature

Jennifer Esmail, an assistant professor in the Department of English and Film Studies at Wilfrid Laurier University, has been awarded one of the most prestigious academic awards in Canada: the 2012 John Charles Polanyi Prize for Literature. The prize, awarded annually to outstanding researchers in five different fields, has a value of $20,000. Read more.

Status of Women Canada funds support research on violence against female students

The Social Innovation Research Group (SIRG), with Ginette Lafrenière as director, will be taking a leadership role in the research activities of the project, lead by the Sexual Assault Support Centre – Waterloo Region. SIRG's emphasis will be on assisting project partners to make evidence-informed decisions about the prevention and response to gendered violence on campus. Read more.